Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

840K IP in North Epping

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by bowfinger, 31st Aug, 2016.

?

Hold or sell?

1. Hold

4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Sell

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. bowfinger

bowfinger New Member

Hi guys,

Just after a bit of advice about what to do with an Epping Park investment apartment that was purchased off the plan a year ago. Before making the purchase I advised my partner than OTP properties aren't a wise investment as they incur a premium. I also advised that location is quite important (e.g., close to public transport, good schools, etc.)(not that I'm an expert in property investment - I just did a fair bit of research before buying my '70s investment unit).

She had a different opinion and, trusting her R.E. agent, proceeded with the purchase (840K). Today the agent advised that the value has fallen to 780K, as the area is "full of properties" and the property itself is "far from station and shops".

We're thankful it wasn't a bigger loss. The question is what to do now -- should she sell the property or hold? On one side I think she should hold, as most properties rise in value eventually. On the other side, strata fees are over 1K per quarter, which will increase as the property gets older. on the whole, I think she should should SELL, but again, I am certainly no expert in property investment. What do you think she should do?

Many thanks in advance

2. Gockie

Gockie I'm an ISTP-A female, so I might be a bit quirky! Premium Member

Where is this? NSW or Vic?

3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

After having undertaken thorough due diligence & the decision to purchase, did they move the station, bus route, schools & shops? Nothing can be done now to improve these factors.

4. Glorion

Glorion Well-Known Member