$700-800k budget for investment in nsw?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by reef, 19th Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. reef

reef Member

Hi guys, im a newbie here. Just migrated to australia. First home buyer too but i cannot afford to buy in the area i want to live so im thinking of just buying my first investment. Want to get some idea on how far my budget can go? Looking at sydney properties my only option is apartment. Is it worth investing on an apartment versus a landed house? Or is it better to go farther from sydney and invest on land instead of apartment? Thanks in advance

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Plenty of old houses for that budget. Look west of parra? Whats the desired suburb?

3. reef

reef Member

Thanks for your reply. Prefer artarmon or chatswood because of school catchment.

4. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Everyone would prefer Artarmon or Chatswood but you missed that boat by 20+ years.

You might find a duplex up towards Thornleigh in that range.

Otherwise Toongabbie/Blacktown would fit the budget.

5. David Shih

David Shih Mortgage Broker Business Member

Personally - while North Shore is excellent for your own living however for investment the rental yield is terrible. It's not for someone who is starting out, need to have plenty of money in the back pocket. I've recently inspected a 2 bed walk-up unit in Gordon and gross rental works out to be just above 3%...it's crazy low! Unless you're able to find a house with granny flat but again it'll usually be minimum of $1.5m+.