VIC $600k PPOR

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Riffo, 27th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Riffo

Riffo Member

Hi all,

Stumbled on this chat a few weeks ago while researching where to buy in Melbourne and found responses/advice to be really helpful. Being a potential first home buyer I figured I need all the help I can get and would love some advice from the experts on here

Details:

Looking to buy our first home
    - Plan is to live in for 2-5 years and eventually rent out and upgrade (timeline is flexible depending on feasibility of this plan, I’m a newbie to property buying after all ;))

Ideally want to stay under or as close to as possible to $600k budget as we’d like to take advantage of the savings on stamp duty.

Looking at houses/townhouses/units ~30mins drive or ~1hour or less PT to the CBD. Access to public transport is important as well

Wife and I both work in the city. Combined income of approx 160k before tax

Prefer 3 bed 2 bath. I know this narrows the range a lot with the budget I’m on but sure some suburbs can meet this criteria (at an expense of another, I’m not sure?)

Have looked at Airport West, Gladstone Park, Epping in the north. Laverton and Altona Meadows in the west

Eastern and SE suburbs might be out of my budget with the 3 bed 2 bath requirement unless we look at suburbs past or around Dandenong (Which may take longer to travel into the city)

Are there any important details/requirements I may have overlooked or haven’t mentioned?

Would appreciate all suggestions/advice

Warm regards

2. Spiralkut

Spiralkut Well-Known Member