VIC $4million cash, 40, single [plan needed]

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by cloudproof, 4th Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. cloudproof

cloudproof Member

Hey PC community!

You are such a great resource of knowledge - I would appreciate some ideas! I am about to reach a point in life where I wish to pivot and change my goals and financial plan.

Summary
    PAYG job: $200,000 pa (professional career)
    Savings: $4,000,000 cash
    Super: $300,000
    No debt
    Single, no kids or commitments

I would like to soon ditch my PAYG job to boot-strap an online business while travelling overseas. I have some experience with this and could probably earn enough to cover most of my living expenses while having a good time.

Living expenses: $80k/year would fund my lifestyle including travel and housing costs, I live on less now.

Experience: I have some experience in property, shares, and investing. I have completed one development which was quite rocky but I learnt a lot.

Requirements: I'm willing to invest in active investments and put in some "sweat" equity. I have done poorly from actively managing my shares over the past 10 years but better from real estate. Happy to put time into finding deals, managing tenants, renovations, even small developments.

Current thoughts:
    1) Invest primarily in residential real estate. Mix of higher yield and capital growth assets spread around Australia. Include a single dwelling future development site with growth prospects and claim PPOR CGT exemption. Do some small cosmetic renovation projects and hold long term. Diversify across Australian residential markets. Invest some of the cash other asset classes - eg index funds.