$400K for IP which of the following options would you choose?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by tango76, 29th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. tango76

tango76 Member

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to the forum and I would like lots of help please. I'm preparing to purchase my 3rd IP's. If you have $400K to invest (buy&hold, positive or neutral cash flow is desirable but slightly negative CF is ok, and decent capital growth) which of the following options would you choose?

1. Ipswich region: Houses in Goodna/Gailes/Camira/Bellbird park

2. Brisbane north: Houses in Bracken Ridge, Redcliff

3. Melbourne: 2br villas/units in Coburg, Brunswick, Footscray or West Footscray

4. Frankston

5. Hobart: Houses in Moonah, Lindisfarne, New Town.

I know that I am casting my net very wide at the moment. Hoping for advice to narrow down my search.

Many thanks!

2. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

Hi Tango76.
    First question. How do you think these locations will perform over the next 1 and 5 years? Are there any locations you think will outperform? Also are you comfortable with the rental yield achievable in each of these areas?

Second question. Where are your other properties?
    Reason for asking is that its not good to keep everything all in the 1 state, for diversification and land tax purposes.

Ta,
    Gockie

tango76 likes this.
  3. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Assuming you've done all your DD and risk assessment, then I would look into eigher option 1 or 2.

tango76 likes this.
  4. C-mac

C-mac Well-Known Member

As Leo said, SEQ region would be worth a look, though northern Brisbane has moved in some pockets already. Not sure about movement in Ipswich (I dont follow that market currently). @See Change wrote up a piece on Goodna recently that is worth a read if considering it.