Sydney Based Growth Portfolio

Discussion in 'Investor Stories & Showcase' started by John_BridgeToBricks, 31st May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. John_BridgeToBricks

John_BridgeToBricks Buyer's Agent Business Member

Hi All,

I am a Chartered Accountant and a buyer's agent based in Sydney.

My property story actually began nearly 18 years ago when I purchased my first investment property - a 2 bedroom unit in Artarmon (Sydney's lower north shore).

The property was in a state of dis-repair - old kitchen, old carpet, and the front door holding on by a thread.

This property became the foundation for the portfolio that has grown over the subsequent 18 year period.

I have built a Sydney-based property portfolio focusing on three ingredients that always work:

1. Location: Buying in awesome locations, but avoiding the premium of new or off the plan. Walk-ability, particularly to transport is a critical criterion;
    2. Land content: low-rise properties where the land is driving the appreciation.
    3. Layout:- liability. No bathrooms off the living room!

Eventually the decision was made to add to the portfolio with one acquisition per year. Not too fast, not too slow. Realising that property is a game of inflation, compounding and time, the focus was on asset accumulation, in a particular logical order.

I now have properties in many parts of Sydney.

My full story is in the Smart Property Investment podcast - see below.

Now I am a buyer's agent. My job is to help people purchase the right sort of properties that create enduring generational wealth.

Best,

John Comino

Podcast link below:
    A purely Sydney-based portfolio - Smart Property Investment

Last edited by a moderator: 4th Jun, 2018
  2. Hwangers

Hwangers Well-Known Member

wow that's amazing, great job on your journey so far!

Care to share some specific numbers :)