Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

3 phase power - when to upgrade?

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by EN710, 11th Feb, 2016.

Tags:
  1. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    Just wondering how do you know whether you house would need a 3 phase power?

    Upgrade cost is $1400 from my builder, plus another $600 for the surcharge protector

    Main consideration - we are going to install at least 3 split system air con, and a pool
     
  2. mini2

    mini2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    NSW
    Do you have a large shed/garage by any chance? It could be a USP further down the track for a car enthusiast who wants a hoist installed.
     
    EN710 likes this.
  3. wylie

    wylie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,982
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'd be asking your sparkie. We don't have phase three and we have a ducted (big air-con, plus four small splits, a pool. No issue for us.
     
    EN710 likes this.
  4. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,400
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    If the house needed 3phase it would be factored in. It's usually if you need it for stuff youll do in the shed etc or a specific reason you want it
     
    EN710 likes this.
  5. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    Normal double garage

    Not sure if hubby a mechanic type... he likes waxing and cleaning the car. Never seen him with anything heavy o_O

    Is it expensive to upgrade to 3 phase later?


    Thanks @wylie might not need 3 phase (I hope)!
     
  6. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    I wouldn't be without it.

    A/C and pool motors can require 3 phase.

    I don't believe that there's any great efficiency one way or the other.

    You will require heavier breakers and cabling for single phase motors vs smaller 3 ph supply.
     
    Perthguy and EN710 like this.
  7. mini2

    mini2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    NSW
    I don't think you'll need it...I've got a pool pump and 2x those massive ducted compressors (20kw combined?) still using normal 240v mains. If there's no foreseeable need for 3 phase then save that $2k for something else.
     
    EN710 likes this.
  8. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    @mini2 - Those ac units suck a massive 83.3 amps of your 100 amp 240v domestic power supply - OMG.

    Turn on a few lights, the 1.8kw kettle & your 20 amp electric oven for Sunday roast and you'll be tripping the service fuse not the piddly ones on the front of your fusebox.

    No. I can't see any need to upgrade unless you want to use the ac and have lunch.
     
    Perthguy likes this.
  9. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    Is it just certain types of aircon?
    We would have ducted heating already, so won't use the AC apart from cooling. The house is 27sq, but we would mainly put AC in theater (16sqm), Master bed (16sqm) and living/kitchen (35sqm approx)

    Called air con provider and they said it's unlikely they'd need 3 phase o_O
    Called pool company and they said they only need 2x 10Amp GPO. I have also made provisions for pool light junction box and 32 Amp Junction box (if going with Swim Spa instead)

    Still confuse o_O
     
  10. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    Taking the above figures 32 + 3 × 15 amp mixed circuits + 20 amp oven = 97 amps.

    In isolation none of these require 3 ph but cumulatively you may go over.

    Even if you go 3 ph, you don't need 3 ph appliances but will need the sparky to balance the loads across the phases.

    I am not including the hws or the ac load.
     
  11. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    Huh? So need more work after the upgrade?
     
  12. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,599
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    3 phase = 3 × 1 ph @ 120° offsets.

    As I said, you won't need to install 3 ph motors but the equipment will sit on different wires to balance the loads.
     
    EN710 likes this.
  13. Be Developer

    Be Developer Property Developer Business Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,085
    Location:
    Australia
    @EN710

    Builder is obviously quoting you with his own margin on a cost.

    if it is your PPOR, no harm in having 3 phase for cost of $2K. your aircon, fridge can run on separate line.
     
  14. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    Do you think it's necessary though? and will it add value if I ever want to sell it :confused::p
     
  15. mini2

    mini2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    NSW
    Now you've got me thinking...might do some digging around next time I pop around to the rental and see what's the go with its wiring.
     
  16. Anthony416

    Anthony416 Active Member

    Joined:
    14th Dec, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    North Shore, Sydney
    Totally agree with all of Scott No Mates' posts. Done now is cheaper than retro fit.
     
  17. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
    Should I have it then?
     
  18. sanj

    sanj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,159
    Location:
    Perth
    If u ever buy a tesla you'll get a full recharge in 4 hours with 3 phase instead of 8 hours, bonus!
     
    Perthguy likes this.
  19. EN710

    EN710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,165
    Location:
    NSW
    If I can afford Tesla you mean! and 8 hours is non issue given I work at least 8 hours a day :(
     
  20. wylie

    wylie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,982
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have you asked a sparkie? Your builder might not have a clue really.

    Why spend $2k if you don't need to. We have had everything running and never had an issue.