200k noob question - SE QLD

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Salman, 31st Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Salman

Salman New Member

Hello everyone, noob here on the market in Brisbane. I'll quickly explain my situation in the following points:

1. I am on a visa. So I think I don't really qualify for loans do I? I'm hopeful that I'll become a permanent resident in 3-4 years.

2. I've got 200k almost ready to invest. My savings plus my parents help, who are overseas.

3. Working (65k) near Burpengary but open to buying anywhere around Brisbane.

4. Got my wife and one little baby here. So short to medium term goal is getting a house. Long term plan is to retire with sufficient income. I'm 33 btw.

Based on my situation, what do you think would be a good approach for me with 200k available without any loans? Try to get as much land as possible in outer suburbs? Get a little apartment/unit and save on rent? Something completely different? Please feel free to educate me as I'm totally lost. Cheers! :)

2. thunderstrike888

thunderstrike888 Well-Known Member

I think you need to increase your earnings. $65k with a wife and baby is very very difficult.

Even if you were a PR not sure you'd qualify for a loan these days. There are minimum living expenses these days when applying for a loan and with 2 dependents you will probably fail serviceability in many instances.

How did you save $200k on that income? Or is it mostly from family? If you did manage to do that - that is an incredible amount of money to save on that income.

Salman likes this.
  3. Sanka

Sanka Well-Known Member

Agree on the above and if I was in this position I would continue to build on the 200k so when you do get into a stronger position to borrow visa and income wise then you can maximise that purchase.

4. Sanka

Sanka Well-Known Member