20 and eager to enter the market!

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by AlphaBGamma, 18th Sep, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AlphaBGamma

AlphaBGamma Member

Hi everyone!

I'm looking to enter the property market as a SWSydney-based 20 year old earning $75k. I'm really eager to jump in to the market ASAP to maximise my 'time in the market.'
    Also noting that I've been working for the same business financier for 2 years and have just gotten a promotion to a new role, so I believe it's safe to say I have steady income/employment.

I'm setting my budget at < 500k to purchase as an owner-occupier so I can benefit from the first-home buyer schemes. I intend to live in it for 6 months before leasing it out and moving back home/rentvesting.
    I'll only be able to offer around $10k as a deposit, however am extremely fortunate to have my parents available as guarantors.

I'm very open to moving interstate as we have offices in Perth, Brisbane, Melbourne, and Adelaide.
    I've been looking mainly at Brisbane, in particular the nicer suburbs of Logan (Meadowbrook, Rochedale South) as I believe there is a lot of potential for CG and decent yields for an affordable price.

I think I will also prioritise established houses oriented toward young families - good school catchments, friendly community, good infrastructure and government planning, proximity to public transport, and acceptable crime-rates. I'm also very willing to increase value in the property through renovations.
    I understand that units and townhouses are more in my price range, but I am not sure whether it is worth investing in these properties given their lesser potential.