WA 1st IP

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by AP121, 8th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AP121

AP121 Well-Known Member

Hello guys,

I am a newbie here and have been reading a lot on this great forum and we are coming slowly to a point where we are planning to buy our first IP. We currently have a PPOR with outstanding mortgage of 350K (House Valuation 620K) in Perth.

So this is my situation. I'll have around 50k deposit available and around 150K in equity. I wouldn't want to stretch my buying power too much, so I'm willing to spend around 500K. So my question is, do I buy a townhouse in a really nice area or should I buy a old house on a big block with sub-division potential in not so nice area (Balga, Girrawheen, Nollamara)?

Everyone mentions buy a house to avoid Strata fees, but if i buy a freehold/torrens Strata townhouse I won't be paying Strata, right?

Also as they say 'land appreciates, building depreciates', but as an owner of a townhouse I still own a share of land, right? And that land can be on a much more expensive location.

Also I have been researching in other capitals like Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne.

Please share your thoughts and help out a newbie like me.

Cheers

Realist35 likes this.
  2. Sonamic

Sonamic Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum.

Best of luck with your journey.

3. Phase2

Phase2 Well-Known Member

Hi AP121, and welcome. :)
    There are lots of threads in PC re: what to look for when choosing an IP.

Let's start with finances.. What do you mean you'll have $50k deposit and $150k in equity?
    If your PPOR is worth $620k, you should have:

$620k x 80%LVR - $350k existing loan = $146k in available equity