12yo bank records to establish deductability?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Barneymaroon, 20th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Barneymaroon

Barneymaroon Well-Known Member

I have been investing in shares since mid-2007 (craker of a time to start - not). I understand I have to keep all my tax records for seven years - and have done so - but perhaps have not looked after my bank records beyond the seven years - like - I can't find them (I had kids!).

Bell and ANZ have records of all my transactions so I can prove all my CGT records with these if need be, but what I don't have - I realise now - is the bank records which *prove* I borrowed money to buy my shares.

Every dollar of interest I have ever claimed was certainly attached to borrowings - but in fact this would be a nightmare for me to prove. The loans would have been secured against my house, but there were some dark months in 2008 (catching a very large falling knife) where there were loans shared between personal and investment use for about 12 months - but I have a speadsheet which calculates the interest on each day they were shared and makes sure that I only claimed the investment. This was 11 years ago - and I can't find my statements (pre -online days). Should I stress about this - would I need them if audited now? I should also note that some of share loans are called house loans by the ANZ so I get a cheaper interest rate - hard to beleive that saving interest by using the house as security would be a problem - but maybe I don't know what I don't know.

One part of me tells me that the lack of records from 10 years ago which established that I borrowed the funds cannot be a problem. Prodiving I have interest statements justifying my claims each year for the last seven I should be fine. I guess however it is hard to tell the loans are for shares if they are called "house loans"?

What would happen if I was audited?